Twenty20 International

India v Australia 2007-08

Anand Vasu

At Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, October 20, 2007 (floodlit). India won by seven wickets. Toss: Australia. Twenty20 international debut: M. Kartik.

The World Cup holders might have had things pretty much their own way in the 50-overs matches, but the recently crowned Twenty20 kings emphasised their primacy at the even shorter game with a relatively straightforward victory. Only Ponting got going for Australia, hitting 13 fours in his 76 from 53 balls, but Harbhajan Singh applied the brakes successfully, conceding just 17 from his four overs. With Lee proving expensive - his third over cost 20 - India were always ahead of the rate, and all five of their batsmen scored at better than a run a ball as the target was chased down with 11 deliveries to spare.

Man of the Match: G. Gambhir.

© John Wisden and Co.