Ary Gold Cup

New Zealand v Sri Lanka, 2000-01

At Sharjah, April 17 (day/night). New Zealand won by 79 runs. Toss: Sri Lanka.

New Zealand broke their duck, but could not improve their net run-rate sufficiently to reach the final. Jayasuriya became the only captain to field first in this tournament, and won a swift reward when Nevin was caught behind first ball. But with Sinclair and Bell adding 141, it was nearly 30 overs before the next breakthrough. Sinclair advanced to his second century of the week, with five fours and two sixes, and was unbeaten at the end. He had to share the match award, though, with team-mate Kyle Mills, who in his second international claimed Sri Lanka's first three wickets and also took a leaping catch. Even Jayawardene could not raise his team's momentum and they limped to 169 for eight.
Men of the Match: K. D. Mills and M. S. Sinclair.

© John Wisden & Co