Sharjah Champions' Trophy


At Sharjah, October 20. Pakistan won by 38 runs. Toss: India. Even without Imran and Akram, Pakistan were untroubled in maintaining their unbeaten record. A brilliant century by Salim Malik, who featured in entertaining stands with Shoaib, Sohail and Miandad, provided the backbone of a total which India never threatened. With Aaqib Javed and Waqar Younis moving the ball disconcertingly, the Indian batsmen fell further and further behind the run-rate of 5.38 - just as their bowlers had failed to meet the agreed over-rate in an attempt to lessen the effect of Pakistan's attacking strokeplay.

Man of the Match: Salim Malik.

© John Wisden & Co