A set of rules for the game first appeared in 1744 but it was not until 1788 that the Marylebone Cricket Club drew up and published the first Laws of Cricket. Since then they have been amended to reflect changes in the game with the most recent version produced in 2000. As they remain the copyright of the MCC, who remain the custodians of the Laws, we are not allowed to publish them, but the most recent version can be found by clicking here.

Major Changes

1809 Weight of the ball and width of bat standardised, as was height of the stumps. Leg before wicket was introduced to counter the increasing use of legs to prevent the ball hitting the stumps.
1829 Height of stumps again increased (24 to 27 inches) as was length of the bail. Clarification of throwing.
1835 Second version of the Laws published.
1864 Overarm bowling officially permitted.
1884 Third version of the Laws, standardising the number of players on a team, the size of the ball, and introducing the follow-on rule.
1889 Length of an over increased from four to five deliveries. In 1922 an amendments was passed allowing eight-ball overs in Australia.
1947 Another version published, stipulating overs had to be either six or eight balls.
1980 New version introduces metric measurements.
2000 The most recent revision published.