The Cricinfo Awards 2007

ESPNcricinfo staff
The winning performances in the inaugural edition of the Cricinfo Awards

The Cricinfo Awards comprise two unique sets of awards - one subjective, voted on by a jury, the other based on numbers. We announced the nominees in December 2007. Now the votes have been counted and the numbers crunched and it's time for the winners.

The Jury Awards pay tribute to the best individual performances in the three international forms of the game during the calendar year 2007. The winners, picked by Cricinfo's expert panel - comprising some of the world's most discerning observers of the game - from a shortlist compiled by the site's staff, are now out. Use the links below to find out more.

The other part, the Statsguru Awards, is based on hard data. Cricinfo records data on 16 parameters for each ball bowled in international cricket. We can tell you who has been the most consistent batsman of the year, who has scored the greatest percentage of runs in boundaries, who has bowled the most dot-balls, and more. The awards in this category are also out, below.

We invited readers to vote on the Jury Awards shortlists. The results are here

The Jury Awards

Our panel of eight voted on shortlists in each of six categories - batting and bowling performances over the three formats, Tests, ODIs and Twenty20 cricket. Here are the winners and the full lists of nominees in each category.

The winners
Tests | ODIs | T20Is

The nominees
Tests: Batting | Bowling ODI: Batting | Bowling T20: Batting | Bowling

The Jury
Geoffrey Boycott Former England opening batsman Boycott is among the most distinctive voices on cricket television. Forthright and opinionated, he has millions of devoted fans across the world. He features on the Bowl at Boycs show every fortnight on Cricinfo.

Ian Chappell Arguably the best captain of the last 50 years, Australia's Ian Chappell made self-belief and conviction the hallmark of his leadership, and his team never lost a series where he was in charge. These days he is a trenchant commentator and cricket columnist.

Daryll Cullinan South Africa's leading batsman in the early 1990s, Daryll Cullinan was hailed as "the new Graeme Pollock" when he first emerged. He held the record for highest score in Tests by a South African, and is now second on that list. He is currently a commentator with SuperSport.

Tony Greig A former England captain and allrounder, Greig has been a regular in press boxes from Perth to Peshawar for over two decades, and is perhaps the most recognisable voice in cricket commentary worldwide. He presents the Tony Greig Show every week on Cricinfo.

Michael Holding Part of the famous West Indies quartet of the 1980s, Holding was one of the fastest bowlers in history. His 14 wickets at The Oval in 1976 is still the best performance by a West Indian bowler in Tests. Holding is now a popular, well respected commentator with Sky Sports in the UK.

David Lloyd A former England cricketer and Lancashire captain, David Lloyd was a fine allrounder and an outstanding fielder. After retiring from the game, he served as an umpire and as England's coach. Lloyd is now with Sky Sports and was recently voted among the UK's favourite cricket commentators.

Sanjay Manjrekar Manjrekar was among the most technically sound batsmen India has ever had. He played in the middle order and, briefly later in his career, as an opener, and also occasionally kept wicket. He is now a commentator and anchor with Ten Sports.

Ramiz Raja A former Pakistan captain and opening batsman, Ramiz Raja has also served as the CEO of the Pakistan Cricket Board - a post he gave up in 2004 to focus on his media commitments with Ten Sports and other networks.

Ravi Shastri Former India middle-order and opening batsman, left-arm spinner, and captain in one Test, Shastri was among the most effective utility players the country has ever produced. He is now a commentator with ESPN-Star and chairman of the National Cricket Academy.

Statsguru Awards

Going beyond the usual look at the most runs scored, wickets taken, or batting average, the Statsguru Awards are the result of detailed data analyses of performances in 2007.

Which batsman played more consistently than any other over the entire year? Which bowler performed at his best against top-order batsmen? Who relished tail-end wickets the most? Cricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more. The Statsguru Awards are based on these stats. The results originate from quantitative analyses of performance throughout the year, which makes these awards definitive and distinctive.

For the full list of Statsguru Awards winners, click here